PRCAC continues to whittle away at local zoning

By Meg Olson

The Point Roberts Community Advisory Committee (PRCAC) is heading into 2019 with a lot of new faces at the table.

Following a December 18 townhall meeting where the community heard from four candidates seeking to fill the at-large position on the committee previously held by Keith Glading, Stephen Falk earned a solid majority of email votes and has been named to the committee by county executive Jack Louws.

Linda Hughes, the other at-large member of the committee, has one year left in her term.

Former PRCAC chair Jeff Christopher chose not to seek another term as the representative from the Point Roberts Taxpayers’ Association and the association has put forward Steve Wolf in his place.

The Point Roberts Chamber of Commerce has put forward David Gellatly for another 2-year term on the committee.

Joel Lantz has stepped down as president of the Point Roberts Voters Association and the group’s PRCAC representative. He will be replaced by Tessa Pinkston, a lifelong Point Roberts resident and local realtor.

The new committee members will all begin their terms at the regular PRCAC meeting on February 21 at the community center starting at 6 p.m.

PRCAC will also hold a special meeting on January 31 at 6 p.m. to continue the discussion started at a December 11 meeting on proposed revisions to the section of county code specific to the Point – the Point Roberts Special District (20.72). Cliff Strong from Whatcom County Planning and Development Services is scheduled to attend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.