The Point Roberts fire department has already filled its first community cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) class on October 22 and is scheduling more.
Chief Chris Carleton said the next CPR class will be held Tuesday, November 20.
Carleton, an American Heart Association CPR instructor and basic life support regional faculty, said he is planning monthly
CPR and basic first aid training. “My concentration right now is on CPR,” he said. “That’s how lives are saved.” Participants will learn adult, child and infant CPR, as well as how to respond to a choking incident and how to operate an automated external defibrillator.
Classes are free and will be held at the fire station on Benson Road. There is a $5 cost to issue certification cards. To sign up, email email@example.com or call 945-3473.
Crab season extended through December
Sport crabbers were given the green light for fall crabbing after late-summer assessments showed Dungeness and red rock crab remain plentiful in most Washington waters.
Last month, on October 13, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) reopened most marine areas in Puget Sound, including local marine area 7a, for recreational crabbing. Crab may be harvested seven days a week until December 31.
The daily catch limit in Puget Sound is five male Dungeness crab, with hard shells a minimum of 6.25 inches. In addition, fishers may catch six red rock crab of either sex per day, provided those crab measure at least 5 inches across. Additional information is available on WDFW’s website at wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/ shellfish/crab/.
All crab caught in the late-season fishery must be recorded on winter catch cards, which are valid until December 31. Winter cards – free to those with crab endorsements – are available at the Point Roberts Marina. Winter catch reports are due to WDFW by February 1, 2013.
Property taxes due October 31
Whatcom County treasurer Steve Oliver would like to remind taxpayers that the second half of property tax payments are due October 31, 2012.
These taxes must be paid or postmarked by Wednesday, October 31 to avoid interest and penalties.
Taxes become delinquent after October 31, and any unpaid amount will incur an 8 percent penalty on December 1.
“The USPS ships county mail to Everett for processing, so do not wait until the due date to mail your payment if you want to ensure a timely postmark,” advises Oliver.
Payment options are available. If you own a residence or mobile home, are 61 or older, or are retired because of a disability and have income of $35,000 or less, you may be entitled to an exemption. Contact the assessor’s office for more information at 360/676-6790.