Preliminary August primary election results foretell tight races in November


The August 2 primary election is turning out to be a hot election in Whatcom County. About 30 percent of the 155,458 registered county voters had turned in their ballots as of 8 p.m. Election Day. Whatcom County Auditor’s Office estimated another 12,600 ballots were left to count after nearly 46,580 ballots were counted. 

Sharon Shewmake (D) pulled ahead for the district 42 state senator seat, with 47.6 percent (15,279 votes) and will face incumbent Simon Sefzik (R) in the November general election. Sefzik received 33.4 percent in favor (10,707 votes). Ben Elenbaas (R) will not advance as he received 19 percent in support (6,077 votes). The two Republicans received 52.4 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Alicia Rule (D) received 49.2 percent (15,715 votes) and will be challenged for the district 42 state representative position 1 seat by Tawsha (Dykstra) Thompson, who received 35.9 percent (11,481 votes) in support. Kamal Bhachu (R) will not advance to the November election as he received 14.9 percent (4,744 votes). The two Republicans received 50.8 percent of the vote.

The district 42 state representative position 2 seat is proving to be a close race. Joe Timmons (D) was leading with 29.1 percent (9,229 votes), followed in second by Dan Johnson (R), who had 27.4 percent (8,691 votes). Kyle Christensen (R) received 23.8 percent (7,543 votes) and Richard May received 19.6 percent (6,191 votes). The two Republicans received 51.2 percent of the vote.

Whatcom County prosecuting attorney Eric Richey (D) is running without opposition to keep his seat. As for the Whatcom County District Court judge position 2, Jonathan Rands received 42.4 percent (17,824 votes) and will likely face Gordon M. Jenkins, who received 35.7 percent (15,017 votes) in November. David Nelson received 21.6 percent (9,077 votes). 

For Washington State Secretary of State, incumbent Steve Hobbs (D) received 40.7 percent (18,319 votes) in Whatcom County. He received 41.2 percent in support from Washington state voters. Following Hobbs with statewide votes, Julie Anderson (nonpartisan) has 12.9 percent, Bob Hagglund (R) has 12.4 percent and Keith L. Wagoner (R) has 12.2 percent of votes.

U.S. Senate incumbent Patty Murray (D) received 53.2 percent (24,535 votes) in support in Whatcom County and 54 percent (557,978 votes) statewide. Murray will face Tiffany Smiley (R), who has 36 percent (16,549 votes) of county voters’ support and 32 percent (330,176 votes) statewide. 

U.S. Congressional District 2 Representative incumbent Rick Larsen (D) received a majority in support from county and statewide voters, with 43.2 percent (19,763 votes) and 48.41 percent (56,438 votes) respectively. Dan Matthews (R) received 24 percent (10,984 votes) in Whatcom County and 17.5 percent (20,452 votes) statewide. 

The next ballot count was scheduled 5 p.m. August 3 and the election will be certified August 16. Visit for more election results. 


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here